New York State Driver License Suspension

A downward spiral for Adrian began in 2015. It started with a series of moves and job changes. Then he failed file his 2015 and 2016 taxes because he never received his W-2s. Monthly child support deductions from his paycheck were due to the state, but were never paid because Adrian could not keep a job. To make things worse, an unanswered ticket for texting while driving and speeding sat in a pile of mail on an old table.  Previous speeding tickets caused his car insurance rate to spike.  Overwhelmed, Adrian let his insurance lapse, reasoning he would take the subway to work in Manhattan, New York. But, one day while in a jam, Adrian drove his truck to work and was pulled over by an officer for passing a stopped school bus. Adrian was issued two more tickets – a school bus and a no insurance ticket (VTL §§ 1174-(a) and 319-1).

Many of Adrian’s woes can cause a suspension and/or revocation of a driver’s license.  Such as failure to pay child support, not paying taxes, acquiring 11 points to one’s driving record in an 18-month period, and operating a motor vehicle without insurance. These are examples of some ways that a person’s driver license can be suspended and/or revoked. But, the loss of driving privileges may not the only consequences.

For example, Adrian’s lapse in insurance will trigger a license and registration suspension. However, a one-year driver’s license revocation will result for a driver involved a traffic accident without insurance coverage. Also, license plates must be surrendered to the DMV. Upon eligibility to reapply for a driver license, a driver will first have to pay a $750 civil penalty. In fact, in almost all cases where a person is reapplying for his or her driver license after it has been revoked, a one-time $100 fee is charged.  Additionally, a suspension termination fee must be paid to have a driver license returned after it has been suspended.

And what of the consequences for other traffic violations? Each Vehicle and Traffic Law violation carries an assigned amount of points. For example, texting while driving is a 5-point penalty, whereas speeding is a minimum of a 3-point penalty. Once a driver has accrued 6 points to his or her driving record, he or she is responsible to pay NYS DMV Driver Assessment Responsibility Fee. Not to mention, accruing 11 or more points in an 18-month period can cause a driver’s license suspension and auto insurance to skyrocket.

As Adrian’s situation demonstrates, a person’s driver license can be suspended or revoked by any number of events. You do not have to be overwhelmed or fight this alone.  Call Elisa Claro Esq, of The Claro Law Firm today, and let her represent you and fight your case.  She is an experienced traffic lawyer who has handed thousands of traffic cases. As such, Elisa’s experience as a traffic attorney gives her personal familiarity with many of the police officers, assistant district attorneys, and city, town, and village prosecutors. In making the right decision to hire our traffic ticket laws firm, think of all the money you will save in increased auto insurance premiums, fines, fees and points which become a permanent part of your driving record.  Call The Claro Law Firm today at 917 300-3334 or visit us online.